How do I connect and share wirelessly to a Solstice TV display in a conference room?

Overview

The Solstice Pod by Mersive is a wireless screen sharing application that allows for wireless screen sharing and collaboration. Up to four users can connect to a single Solstice Pod and share content from their Windows or Mac PC, or any Android or iOS based mobile device. A one-time installation of the Solstice client is all that’s required to share to any WeWork conference room with a Solstice Pod installed.

Throughout this guide, we’ll use the word “display” to reference the Solstice Pod, and “screen” to represent what the display mirrors to (either a TV or a projector).

Download and Setup

Download and install the Solstice Pod client here:

DOWNLOAD HERE

Once installed:

  • Open the client application
  • If prompted, enter your name

Connecting to Display

With the application running:

  • Connect to a "Discovered" or "Recently Used display

image21.png

  • Then enter the “Screen Key” (four character password shown in the bottom left of the room display)
  • Press "Ok"

image10.png

  • You should now be connected to the display
  • An icon will appear on the lower left corner of the display representing each user that has successfully connected

Sharing Content to Display

  • Click “Desktop” under “Share Something” to begin mirroring your desktop to the screen

image23.png

  • The client window will change to reflect that content is now being shared

image24.png

If you need to share audio:

  • Click the switch next to “Desktop Audio” and make sure the screen’s speakers are turned up
    • Please note that Mac users will be prompted to install an audio driver - once installed, you may need to restart the Client for audio streaming to begin
  • When streaming audio, you can control the volume right from your computer

To stop sharing:

  • From the “Share” tab, select "Stop Sharing Desktop"
  • You will still be connected to the Solstice Pod, so you can quickly start sharing again if needed

To disconnect:

  • All users should stop sharing
  • Click the “Disconnect” button on the top right to end the session.
  • This will clear all posts, log all users out of the session, and change the Screen Key for the next session.

Custom Settings

  • Choose the “Settings” tab under “Control” on the bottom left corner of the Solstice Client
  • This allows you to set some custom user preferences

image19.png

From here you can change the following:

  • Frequency of on-screen notifications from the client
  • Change your screen name (as it appears on the screen, and to other users who are connected to the Pod)
  • Set audio to automatically share when you’re mirroring
  • set the app to automatically check for updates when it’s started

Please note that the Solstice Directory Service Address is pre-configured by WeWork to guarantee easy display discovery and should not be changed.

The “Meeting” tab under “Control” contains some options that are pre-configured by WeWork to ensure a consistent experience across conference rooms. These cannot be changed by the user.

Sharing with Multiple Users

Multiple users or client devices can connect to the Pod at any time!

When connecting before any content has been shared, the Screen Key will show up in the middle of the screen, as usual.

If content is already being shared, the Screen Key will show up momentarily on the bottom left corner of the screen after you’ve selected your display and been prompted to enter the Screen Key.

While multiple users are connected: 

  • Click the “Layout” tab on the left to change how content appears on the screen
  • Click and drag a post to rearrange how the content looks on the screen
  • Dragging a post to the box on the left will hide it from view, but not remove it from the session, so it can be brought back at any time

image5.gif

  • Clicking the three-dot “menu” icon on the bottom left gives you the option to quickly move all content on or off the screen, and to choose if you’d like content to be automatically aligned to a grid pattern (by default, this option is on)

image2.png

  • Hovering over the meeples along the bottom will show you which user each represents, and how many posts they’ve shared to the session
  • Clicking a user’s meeple will give you the option to show, hide, or delete all of that user’s posts

image13.gif

Sharing with iOS

  • Download and install Solstice App for the Apple App Store using the link at the top of this page
  • Setup is the same as on Windows or MacOS
  • Enter your name
  • Select a display from the Discovered list or enter an IP address to connect to
  • Then enter the Screen Key

image8.png image9.png image11.png

  • On pressing “Mirror Screen” the Solstice App will prompt you to turn on Airplay, and connect to the Display
  • Follow the prompts to connect. You may need to enter the Screen Key as the Airplay Password

image14.png image17.png image18.png

  • You can press “Stop Mirroring Screen” or “Stop Sharing All” to stop sharing to the display, while staying connected (so you can start sharing again without entering the screen key again)
  • To end your session, press “Disconnect” in the top right corner, and be sure to turn Airplay Screen Mirroring off

image6.png

Sharing with Android

  • Download and install Solstice App for the Google Play Store using the link at the top of this page
  • Setup is the same as on Windows or MacOS
  • Enter your name
  • Select a display from the Discovered list or enter an IP address to connect to
  • Then enter the Screen Key

image16.png image1.png

  • On pressing Mirror Screen, Android may warn you that everything on your phone screen will be mirrored.

image12.png image22.png

  • While mirroring your screen, the button in the app’s main window will change to read “Stop Mirroring Screen” and your phone’s screen will show up in the “Control” menu of the app (and the “Control” menu of anyone else who is connected to the session)

image7.png image20.png

  • You can press “Stop Mirroring Screen” or “Stop Sharing All” to stop sharing to the display, while staying connected (so you can start sharing again without entering the screen key again)
  • To end your session, press “Disconnect” in the top right corner.

image15.png